Testimonials

Natalia Gandolphi.jpg

April 16th, 2021

Ryan holds a solid understanding of market dynamics and delivers concepts in instructive and easy to understand style. He has a deep knowledge of the coffee market and creates insightful analysis.

Natalia Gandolphi

Market Intelligence analyst at HedgePoint Global Markets

Bruno Cerqueira.jpg

April 8th 2021

Ryan is the best at transferring his knowledge when he is teaching Risk Management solutions for the Commodities Market, especially coffee. Working with him on a project where we needed to deliver a lot of information using the shortest method, was fundamental to see and know how good he is, not only teaching, but also knowing what he was presenting, due to his solid background and experience in the market.

Bruno Cerqueira

Relationship Manager at HedgePoint Global Markets

Jose Maria Jove.jpg

April 3rd, 2021

 

We had the pleasure of having Ryan as our coffee expert in the region since he has a solid understanding of the coffee business from the farms to the roasters. During that time, he was in charge of generating comprehensive weekly market fundamentals and technical analysis reports based on his own coffee price model. Ryan is able to deliver and teaching complex concepts in a very fun and easy way to understand.

Jose Maria Jove

Relationship Manager at HedgePoint Global Markets

Daniel Felipe Osorio.jpg

April 2nd, 2021

 

Ryan is a great professional and it was a pleasure to work with him. He has an incredibly deep knowledge and passion for the coffee markets and is a really fun teacher in classes.

 

We also had the opportunity to collaborate on a specific project where he coached us on web seminar delivery and he did a great job.

 

We could have not done it without him!

Daniel Felipe Osorio

Relationship Manager at HedgePoint Global Markets

Joao Santucci.jpg

April 1st, 2021

 

I had the pleasure of working with Ryan during my time in ED&F Man Capital Markets. Fantastic professional. Outstanding understanding of coffee market dynamics and financial markets altogether. Assertive and outspoken, he was always clear and direct in his points of view, either by providing fair and constructive criticism to pieces that needed improvement or by recognizing and praising the quality of a good work. Needless to say, Ryan has a vast knowledge in risk management solutions and products. But knowing is not enough. He is also distinctively capable to communicate the strategies he elaborates from high to low level, depending on the degree of instruction of his audience, with a didactic that is nearly unparalleled when compared to other professionals in the same area.

Joao Santucci

Economist / Research and Market Intelligence / Commodity Specialist

Matt Phillips.jpg

March 26th, 2021

Ryan's effective leadership style and astute problem solving capabilities are the primary reason he is deeply valued in my finance and Marine network. His core values, reliability, and judgement have proven him time and time again an asset who maintains deep cross functional networks across multiple industries. If you're not actively seeking his professional insights you're missing what he brings to the table. 

Jerrid Kidd

Founder and President – Military Java Group

Andrew Falconer.jpg

March 12th, 2019

 

This serves as my formal recommendation for Ryan who has been employed with ECOM Agroindustrial Corporation limited since April 2010 , and with whom I have worked with directly and indirectly these past 8 years.

 

I was Ryan’s senior manager when he was taken on by the group as a trainee Manager in our coffee unit in Bangalore , India. During that time Ryan distinguished himself as a hard worker and who quickly developed a deep understanding of the local markets and the business of coffee trading. Ryan often sought out formal training and hands-on experience to gain a greater understanding of the coffee markets.

 

After his time in India, I recommended Ryan for a position in ECOM’s Ugandan coffee profit centre. During his time in India and Uganda Ryan developed a solid understanding of both the Indian & East African coffee and developed a good working relationship with the Senior team.

 

Since leaving Uganda Ryan has developed a more sophisticated understanding of global coffee fundamentals. Ryan has done excellent work in making presentations and contributing to reports for senior management to analyze and project market conditions. Ryan's strong work ethic, team orientation and analytical mind combined with his origin experience would make him a strong contributor to any physical coffee trading business or market analysis team. If you would require any further details on Ryan then would be happy to discuss if contacted

Andrew Falconer

Director Of Operations Coffee ECOM at ECOM AGROTRADE LIMITED

Adithya Pandanda.jpg

March 11th, 2019

I have know Ryan since 2012 when we were coffee traders at ECOM Gill in Bangalore, India. At that time Ryan was an expat living abroad with his family and was trading Indian specialty coffee to roasters abroad.

Ryan immediately impressed me with his strong people skills, his insatiable desire to learn and his strong work ethic. Although Ryan was in a new country, he went out of his way to learn and understand the local people and culture and to offer exceptional service to our clients, producer-vendors and partners. This was visible when we started working together at the coffee mill. Ryan collaborated closely with mill workers and managers and incorporated their feedback in his proposal to upgrade machinery, a project worth $2M, and won approval of the management. Later, Ryan tabulated the daily trade position for the company and automated redundant processes displaying his ability to be curious, learn and simplify processes. Ryan displayed ownership and led a joint effort with Tata Beverages to market certified Indian specialty coffee. His skill in cupping and affable personality made Ryan a big hit with the Roasters.

Ryan was a pleasure to work with and a true team-player who shared in the difficult and less glamorous work of the office. I would strongly recommend Ryan as a colleague in the coffee industry.

Adithya Pandanda

Business Development at Amazon Appstore | HEC Paris

Ross N.jpg

March 11th, 2019

 

I've had the pleasure of working alongside Ryan as a fellow Director of the 03XX Foundation, a Veteran run non-profit serving the needs of Infantry Marines and Navy Corpsmen. Ryan is has provided leadership to the Operations department, specifically through his revamping of our volunteer program. He is highly effective and influential through his organization, strong analytical skills and his passion for serving the community. He will serve as a great asset to any business fortunate enough to have him on their team.

Ross Nussbaum

Key Account Manager at Biosense Webster

Toby Donovan.jpg

March 8th, 2019

 

Ryan is a consummate soft commodities professional and clearly a defined trader and analyst. I enjoy verbally sparring with Ryan on soft commodities analytics and socialising on a professional and personal basis.

Toby Donovan

Sr. Soft Commodities Trader

Mark Matthews.jpg

March 8th, 2019

 

I first met Ryan when I was the senior Portfolio Manager at Ballymena Advisors. Ryan impressed me with his knowledge of the coffee market, his affable personality and strong work ethic. I hired him to join the fund shortly after we met and he quickly proved himself an asset to the team.

 

Ryan's background in physical coffee trading and strong network enabled him to offer valuable insight into our market analysis. Additionally, Ryan distinguished himself by leveraging his programming and quantitative skillsets.

 

Within a short period of time, Ryan had automated most of our back office work--making the process both faster and more accurate--and created a custom database to manage our investor relations.

 

More importantly I was impressed with Ryan's growth as a trader and analyst. Ryan adjusted rapidly to the speculative trading environment and soon became an integral part of the research and trading process. Ryan is tireless in his pursuit of knowledge in the coffee markets and is always willing to consider all angles to get to the core of price discovery. I would strongly recommend him to any physical or speculative coffee trading team.

Mark Mathews

Portfolio Manager at Antimo LLC

Martin Querin.jpg

March 7th, 2019

I have worked with Ryan as part of volunteering with the 03XX Foundation, a nonprofit organization dedicated to serving Marine Corps infantry veterans, where Ryan serves as the Chief Operating Officer. Ryan brought me into the organization. I have observed firsthand his patience in developing, training, mentoring and leading a team. He has a passion for the details, but never loses sight of the strategic mission and vision, or the need to develop the people to implement it. I have been impressed by his ability to develop solutions to overcome operational hurdles and adjust and adapt quickly when the situations or circumstances require a change. His demeanor and situational presence display a calm confidence that makes it ease for others to trust his judgement and be willing to engage and share their own thoughts and opinions. Ryan is a consummate leader that is adept at managing in a collaborative environment as well, a rare and valuable combination to add to any team

Martin Querin, P.E., MBA

Road Maintenance and Operations Manager at The County of Fresno

Richard Jankowski.jpg

March 7th, 2019

 

I work with Ryan as part of volunteering with the 03XX Foundation, a nonprofit organization dedicated to serving Marine Corps infantry veterans, where Ryan serves as the Chief Operating Officer. Ryan is instrumental to the overall management and success of the organization. His strategic vision and dedication to the mission of helping veterans is a hallmark to his character. I would not hesitate working with him in the future on charity or business projects, he is a true asset to any team

Richard Jankowski

Executive Director - Global Technology at JPMorgan Chase & Co., and Volunteer/COO at 03XX Foundation

Nathan Benoit.jpg

March 7th, 2019

 

I work with Ryan as a part of the 03XX Foundation and he is a critical element in the success of the organization. Through his leadership, he has been the driving force leading the organization to the next level. I would highly recommend Ryan for any form of leadership role going into the future.

Nathan Benoit

Project Manager at Motorola Solutions

Alex Thomas.jpg

March 6th, 2019

I have worked with Ryan since I joined ECOM. He is a deep and analytical thinker who is also great to work with. He has a comprehensive understanding of the coffee and cocoa markets and is skilled at trading futures and options. Aside from his expertise Ryan is also an excellent communicator and can distill complex ideas into easily digestible concepts. I highly recommend him for any business.

Alex Thomas

Head of Trading at Miravet

March 26th, 2021

Ryan's effective leadership style and astute problem solving capabilities are the primary reason he is deeply valued in my finance and Marine network. His core values, reliability, and judgement have proven him time and time again an asset who maintains deep cross functional networks across multiple industries. If you're not actively seeking his professional insights you're missing what he brings to the table. 

Matt Phillips

Founder and President – Military Java Group